Upgrading SQL Server 2008 to 2008 R2

Yesterday, I realized after trying to restore a SQL Server 2008 R2 backup onto my machine that I had never actually upgraded to R2 yet – I would have bet money that I had.

So after tracking down the R2 Install/Upgrade package, I was shocked when just starting the upgrade process I get this cute little error

The report server cannot open a connection to the report server database. A connection to the database is required for all requests and processing. (rsReportServerDatabaseUnavailable) Get Online Help
SQL Server does not exist or access denied.

Crap – I never have had SQL patch or upgrade issues before but since I never use Reporting Services I was worried this was going to take some time to solve – went back to the earlier options to see if I simply could skip upgrading Reporting Services – Nope – all grayed out – but just before it was time to bail and call in the IT Troops, a quick Bing search revealed this web site where a kind soul had experienced the same issue and had published the solution to help his fellow man (which yesterday was me)

http://msdevelopers.blogspot.com/2005/03/rsreportserverdatabaseunavailable-on.html

He kindly shared that the answer was to use the command-line tool rsconfig

You can read about its usage at
http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp?url=/library/en-us/RSUIREF/htm/cpu_rsconfig_v1_5f1e.asp?frame=true

But basically here was the command

rsconfig -c -sMyServerName -dReportServer -awindows -uDomain\Account –pMyPassword

Then a quick trip to the Services window to restart the SQL Server Reporting Services service, and I was back on track

image

And the upgrade was happily past the Reporting Services Authentication step of the Upgrade and 20 minutes later all was well on my machine

image

What a huge advantage developing in our times is being able to share and find information so easily  – maybe some other soul will stumble across this post and save them some time as well

have a good one

Brad

image

About bradosterloo

.NET Software Developer working for Innovative Systems, LLC in Mitchell, SD
This entry was posted in Software Development and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

