TED and I

About a year ago, a BI article I was reading referred to a BI Visualization presentation given by Hans Rosling back in 2007 at a TED conference.  The presentation blew me away – bubble charts changing during a time lapse presentation giving a 4-D representation of data – in a highly effective way – was awesome  and got me reading more about his work and others like Edward Tufte, David McCandless and Stephen Few and their varying opinions.  Great stuff and more on that in a later post.

But what really blew me away is how come I had never heard of the TED conference before?  It’s great – even my HP Touchpad (with its limited number of apps)has a TED app to view online TED presentation from the past.  And I I love TED’s theme of “Ideas Worth Spreading”

image 

Anyway, here was the talk that blew me away and got me thinking about its possibilities – check it out and see if you don’t agree that these presentations aren’t awesome and interesting.  I watched one the other night showing what scientists learned from using Google Labs statistics gleaned from its scanning of 5 million books across the centuries.

http://www.ted.com/index.php/talks/hans_rosling_reveals_new_insights_on_poverty.html

Powerful stuff.

Brad

image

About bradosterloo

.NET Software Developer working for Innovative Systems, LLC in Mitchell, SD
This entry was posted in Geek, Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to TED and I

  1. Pingback: BI Visualizations | The View from Office 301

Leave a Reply

