SD Code Camp

sdcodecamp

Got back from South Dakota Code Camp Saturday evening and have to admit it was a good day.

My own schedule?

First up was a session on the use of the Raspberry Pi – I have mentioned this before but seeing one in action has me pumped up – time to buy the beginners kit and get going on building a XBMC entertainment center the size of a deck of cards (just about)

Can you believe that small little thing in the below picture that the keyboard, mouse and monitor are hooked up to is a Linux computer that only costs $35?

Raspberry-Pi

 

Next up was a session on iOS App development – this was all totally new to me and worth getting the exposure to it – I thought the Apple IDE was pretty slick.

After a quick lunch at Panera’s, next up was a session about SQL Attrocities, then a session about my newest passion – Data Sciences, and then finished the day by attending a talk labeled “Embracing Your Inner Designer” – excellent talk by Josh Broton – very information & entertaining – really hit it out of the park – one of those speakers that make me feel so inadequate

Yeah, it was a whole day away from home on a Saturday with an hour drive to and from – and yet, I always judge these things on my personal scale and follow the 2-out-of-3 rule to determine its worth to me

My 3 –point scale?

  • Did I learn something of value?
  • Did it stoke my inner fire for learning more?
  • Would I go again?

And this one scored a solid 3, so kudos to the gang for setting this up and to my own employer, Innovative Systems for being a primary sponsor of a learning event such as this – it’s the professional responsibility for all of us software developers to stay relevant, those of us that don’t do that are playing with fire.

ninja3

About bradosterloo

.NET Software Developer working for Innovative Systems, LLC in Mitchell, SD
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

